Build Your Own Happiness

“I’d say don’t stress so much about who you are or what people think of you because in the end everything turns out fine. Just be yourself and carry along. Make mistakes, you’re bound to make mistakes and…just like, fall in love, fall out of love, it hurts like crazy but it’s something [a learning experience] that you should go through. Don’t be too hard on yourself. I know a lot of people can be really hard on themselves, myself included, and in the end you just [prohibit] yourself from doing so many things or from being happy. Sometimes happiness is not the person that you’re with or the friends that you’re with, but it’s yourself, it’s within you. It’s all about who you are and how you make your own happiness and success. Success is not money, or the house that you’re in. I came into this country with a bag in my hand, you know, and from there we evolved into having an apartment and then having a house. Sometimes you’re so scared of change, and of letting go of some things you need to let go of because you think “Oh my gosh, I’m going to lose my house or oh my gosh, I’m going to lose my job.” In reality when you think about it, it’s like you came here with nothing…at all, only a bag with papers that you had to give to the airport, so sometimes you just gotta start all over if you really need to. If not, then build your own happiness. You don’t need to be moving around to be happy, sometimes you might relive the very thing you were running from in the first place. It’s just how you build your happiness that counts.”

– Jennifer M.

One thought on “Build Your Own Happiness

Leave a Reply

